Wrapping Up and Heading Home - Farewell to Camp Geiger and Session Two, 2014

In addition to striking camp and loading our gear onto the truck, the best part of Saturday may be that we learn who has been inducted into Mic-O-Say. The new tribesmen for this session were part of the absolutely largest class of new inductees in the history of the tribe! This year, Troop 451 had a record-setting number of new braves inducted: Jacob Belknap, Alex Brock, Jonathan Byers, Austin Curtis, Tommy D’Arcy, Roshan Dave, Ian Hollenshead, Andrew Jansen, Stephen Lampe, Jay Rawson, Caleb Thakur, Jack Tyson, Bryan Wawczak, and Jace Westfall. We also had six adults inducted as Honorary Warriors:  Michael Curtis, David Jansen, Amin Rahman, Darryl Sorensen, Kenneth Thakur, and Michael Wawczak. Congratulations to all the new tribesmen!

The last ceremony of the session is Closing. This is where the week’s achievements are recognized. Here too, Troop 451 was very well represented. Both Misters Rebodos received multiple recognitions for their accomplishments in the Geiger 60 games and Ian Hollenshead got an award for SCUBA diving. The dining hall staff accorded special recognition to all of the adults who helped out in the dining hall this week. Several of our Scouters earned the Camp Geiger Scoutmaster Badge. Our troop was awarded the weekly “Spirit Stick” for outstanding participation and service. The Camp Director, Tony Sasso, presented the adult leaders of Troop 451 with the ‘key to Camp Geiger’ for service above and beyond. We also earned the ‘Clean Sweep’ award for our performance in the campsite inspection contest. Our Campmaster, Ken Kleid, received this award for the Troop. We also won the overall Sharpest Unit honors. It feels good to be recognized for our efforts.

What a fine way to cap-off a fantastic week of learning, fellowship, and fun!


Popular posts from this blog

Saturday, June 16th, 2018

Home Thoughts from Missouri

Friday, June 22nd, 2018